Situation

Deforestation is order to create palm plantations is one of the major causes of the destruction of the important habitats and lungs of our planet in the tropics. The large and rising demand for palm oil worldwide is a strong force behind this disastrous development. Palm oil is extremely versatile and can be used in the food and cosmetic industry in a wide variety of ways- likewise in the Migros Group Industry.

Approach

Since Migros did not want to be associated with the destruction of the tropical forests, I co-initiated a project for them bringing all the interested non-governmental organizations around one table. When the Multi-stakeholder Organization Roundtable for Sustainable Palm oil (RSPO) was established after some years of discussion and meetings, I was proud to put my signature to the founding document. Migros obtained their palm oil from sustainable sources from then on, protecting tropical forests.

Outcome

All the players in the palm oil industry try to solve the major problems in this market in a common and democratic manner. Even if it does not always succeed perfectly and much work is still needed, it seems to me that it is the only viable way to tackle the issue. The RSPO is an important mediator in the production of sustainable palm oil. According to their model, a Roundtable on Sustainable Soy has been established.

Ausgangslage

Die Rodung von Wald für die Pflanzung von Palmplantagen ist eine der wichtigen Ursachen für die Zerstörung der wichtigen Lungen und Lebensräume unseres Planeten in den Tropen. Die grosse und weiter steigende Nachfrage nach Palmöl weltweit ist ein starker Treiber dieser unheilvollen Entwicklung. Palmöl ist ein äusserst vielseitiges Öl und kann in vielfältiger Weise in der Nahrungsmittel- und Kosmetikindustrie verwendet werden – so auch in der Industrie der Migros-Gruppe.

Vorgehen

Da die Migros nicht mit der Tropenwaldzerstörung zu tun haben wollte, habe ich für die Migros ein Projekt mit-initiiert, das alle Akteure der Palmölproduktionskette und alle interessierten Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen an einem Tisch brachte. Als nach ein paar Jahren Diskussionen und Treffen die Multistakeholder-Organisation Roundtable for Sustainable Palmoil (RSPO) entstand, durfte auch ich unter dem Gründungsdokument stolz meine Unterschrift setzen. Die Migros bezog fortan für ihre Industrie Palmöl aus nachhaltiger, den tropischen Wald schützende Produktion.

Resultat

Alle Akteure der Palmölindustrie versuchen die grosse Problematik dieses Marktes gemeinsam und demokratisch zu lösen. Auch wenn es nicht perfekt gelingt und noch viel Arbeit nötig ist, scheint mir das der einzige gangbare Weg, die grossen Probleme anzupacken. Die RSPO eine sehr wichtige Vermittlerin für die Produktion von nachhaltigem Palmöl. Nach deren Vorbild wurde auch ein Roundtable for Sustainable Soy gegründet.